(l-r) Sarah Applebey, Maggie Hilton, Sarah Miller, Tyler Shadrick, Ethan Honegger, Connor Dickson, Lake Zurich Rotary Club president David Wheelock

The Lake Zurich Rotary Club welcomed all six scholarship winners and a parent at lunch last Friday at the Holiday Inn Express in Lake Zurich.  Winners were chosen based on their plans for furthering their education and their community service activities during high school. Unlike traditional scholarships, several Lake Zurich Rotary scholarships were given for two-year college educations.
Scholarship winners were:
  • Sarah Applebey, who graduated from the College of Lake County and plans to attend Lake Forest College in neuroscience
  • Maggie Hilton, a Lake Zurich High School graduate, who will attend Carroll College in physical therapy
  • Sarah Miller, Lake Zurich High School, who will attend community college in business
  • Connor Dickson, Lake Zurich High School, who will attend the University of Illinois in astrophysics
  • Tyler Shadrick, Lake Zurich High School, who will attend Miami University of Ohio in business economics
  • Eric Honegger, Lake Zurich High School, who will attend the University of Illinois in materials science.
Rotary Club president David Wheelock congratulated the students and expressed confidence that they would succeed in all their plans.  "This is a really excellent group of scholarship winners," he said, "and we are very proud of them."